New Audiobooks to our Library this Spring 2019

New Audiobooks to our Library this Spring 2019

Our Copyright Manager, Amy Flinders, tells us the new audiobooks we’ll be adding to the library this Spring!

It’s that time of year again when you don’t know whether to wear a scarf or sunglasses. But one thing that can get you through all weathers is our new selection of audiobooks! So whether you’re indoors escaping the rain, or sunning yourself outside, we’ve got a great list of new and upcoming titles to keep you company!

Queenie – Candice Carty-Williams

The audiobook cover of Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams and read by Shvorne Marks

This debut novel is perfect for anyone who loved Fleabag or Dear White People. Darkly comic and strikingly honest, it tells the story of the twenty-five-year-old British Jamaican titular character, Queenie. Queenie is living in London and struggling to find her place within either of the two cultures with which she identifies. After she breaks up with her long-term white boyfriend, she meets several hazardous men who mess with her head and lead her to question her self-worth. She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams will be coming soon to our library on both mp3 CD and to download or stream!

The October Man – Ben Aaronovitch

The audiobook cover of The October Man by Ben Aaronovitch

The October Man is a new novella from the popular Rivers of London fantasy crime series. A man is found dead in Germany’s oldest city and investigator Tobias Winter, with the help of local cop, Vanessa Sommer, links the victim to a group of ordinary middle-aged men – only to realise they may have accidentally reawakened a bloody conflict from a previous century. With the suspect list extending to people born before Frederick the Great, solving the case may mean unearthing the city’s secret magical history…just so long as that history doesn’t kill them first.

This is the first Rivers of London book not to feature Kobna Holdbrook-Smith as the narrator. We’re excited to see what Sam Peter Jackson can do! The October Man will be arriving in our library soon on mp3 CD and to download or stream!

You can also borrow all the other books in the Rivers of London series from our mp3 CD library or online.

XX – Angela Chadwick

The audiobook cover of XX by Angela Chadwick

This dystopian thriller is perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale. In a world where ovum-to-ovum technology allows women to have a female baby, Rosie and Jules decide to take part in the clinical trials and have a child of their own. But right wing movements are quick to begin the fear-mongering: is there a conspiracy to eradicate men? When Rosie’s pregnancy is put under the media spotlight, she and Jules have to battle a tirade of hate that threatens to tear them apart.

XX by Angela Chadwick will be coming soon to our library on mp3 CD and to download or stream.

Vince and Joy – Lisa Jewell

The audiobook cover of Vince and Joy

Vince and Joy have their whole lives ahead of them on the day they meet. Two weeks later they must part, each having lost a piece of their heart to the other. They won’t see one another for seven years. Where will they be then? And in the years that follow? What will become of Vince and Joy?

Vince and Joy by Lisa Jewell is available to download or stream from our library now.

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Restoration Britain – Ian Mortimer

The audiobook cover of The Time Traveller's Guide to Resoration Britain narrated by Greg Wagland

This book puts Restoration Britain – the period between 1660 to 1700 – under the magnifying glass and explores why it may be one of the most exciting time periods in history.

Medievalism is dwindling away and being replaced by a cultural explosion. Whilst exploring events like the Great Fire of London, the disappearing plague, and the developing trade empire, Ian Mortimer answers the crucial questions that a prospective traveller to 17th-century Britain would ask. How do you find your way around? Would you be suspected of witchcraft? Why are half the people you meet under twenty-one? What is considered rude? In this audiobook, Mortimer examines the small details in order to really bring the past to life.

The Time Traveller’s Guide to Medieval Britain by Ian Mortimer will be coming soon to the library on mp3 CD and to download or stream

Ordinary People – Diana Evans

The audiobook cover of Ordinary People

Two couples find themselves at breaking point. Melissa doesn’t want motherhood to change her. Her husband Michael loves her, but perhaps not enough to stay faithful. Stephanie just wants to live a normal, happy life on the commuter belt with Damian and their three children. But Damian’s recent bereavement is getting in the way.

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, this novel explores identity and parenthood, sex and grief, friendship and ageing, and the fragility of love.

Ordinary People by Diana Evans is available to download or stream from our library now.

The Art of Racing in the Rain – Garth Stein

The audiobook cover of The Art of Racing in the Rain

Soon to be a film starring Amanda Seyfried and Kevin Costner, this is a heart-warming tale about Enzo, a loyal family dog. It tells the story of his human family, how they nearly fell apart, and how Enzo brought them back together.

Enzo is different from other dogs – he has educated himself by watching television and by listening to his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver. Through Denny, Enzo realises that racing is a metaphor: that by applying the techniques a driver would apply on the racetrack, one can successfully navigate their way through life.

The Art of Racing in the Rain is a testament to a man’s life, given by his dog.

The audiobook will be available in our library soon on mp3 CD and to download or stream.

Death in Paradise: Murder in the Caribbean – Robert Thorogood

The audiobook cover of Murder in the Caribbean

Murder in the Caribbean is the fourth book in the series based on one of BBC One’s most popular TV shows. DI Richard Poole is stuck on the tropical island of Saint-Marie. He’s hot and bothered, and can’t find a decent cup of tea anywhere.

Then a boat explodes in the harbour, and Richard and his team soon realise there’s a new murderer on the loose. But who is it? And why did they leave behind a ruby at the scene of the crime? Worse still, they soon realise this is only the beginning. They’ve got to catch the killer before there’s another death in paradise…

Murder in the Caribbean by Robert Thorogood will be available from our library soon on mp3 CD and to download or steam

East of Hounslow – Khurrum Rahman

The audiobook cover of East of Hounslow

This is a darkly comic and gripping new spy thriller featuring a hysterical new hero, Javid Qasim.

Javid – call him Jay – is a dope dealer living in West London. He lives with his mum, and life seems sweet. He goes to mosque on Friday, and he’s just bought his pride and joy – a BMW.

However, MI5 have had their eye on Jay. They think he’s just the man they need for a delicate mission, and they’re about to turn his life upside down. One thing’s for sure: now he’s a long way East of Hounslow, Jay’s life will never be the same again.

East of Hounslow by Khurrum Rahman will be available from our library soon on mp3 CD and to download or stream.

How To Be a Footballer – Peter Crouch

The audiobook cover of How to be a footballer

If you love Peter Crouch’s podcast, then you’ll love this new audiobook. It’s written and read by Peter Crouch himself.

You become a footballer because you love football. And then you are a footballer, and you’re suddenly in the strangest, most baffling world of all. Walk with Peter into dressing rooms, go to post-match interviews, be coached and cajoled by Harry Redknapp, upset Rafa Benitez and be soothed by the sound of an accordion played by Sven-Goran Eriksson’s assistant, Tord Grip. There will be some very bad music, and some very bad decisions.

How To Be a Footballer is now available to download or stream from our library.

We hope you’re as excited as we are by these new audiobooks! We’ll be adding them to the Listening Books library catalogue soon, so don’t forget to keep checking back!

If you liked this post, you may also like 9 New Audiobooks for Autumn or The Best Audiobooks of 2018!

Related Posts
Leave a reply