9 Audiobooks to Get Excited About in 2018

9 Audiobooks to Get Excited About in 2018

New year, new audiobooks. Our Copyright Manager Amy Flinders tells us all about a selection of the titles we’re adding to the library soon!

If you need something to take your mind off the fact that you’ve kept absolutely none of your new year’s resolutions, then why not listen to some of the audiobooks that will be brand new to our catalogue this Spring? We’ll be adding lots of titles to our library over the next couple of months! I’ve picked out nine of my favourites to get particularly excited about, all of which will be available both as MP3 CD and to download and stream. So sit back, relax, and get these 2018 audiobooks between your ears!

 

How to Be Champion – Sarah Millican

Sarah Millican How to Be Champion Audiobook

In her hilarious debut book, British comedian Sarah Millican recalls her life story so far. She also provides a few self-help tips and life-hacks along the way. From her school days to her divorce to her career in stand-up comedy, Sarah gives us an honest and laugh-out-loud account of her life and, more importantly, how to be ‘champion’.

 

In a Cottage in a Wood – Cass Green

In a Cottage in a Wood Cass Green Audiobook

If you loved Cass Green’s The Woman Next Door, then you’re sure to be intrigued by her second psychological thriller. When a stranger inexplicably leaves her cottage in Cornwall, Neve decides to elope there to escape her London life. But when Neve arrives, she finds a sinister-looking bungalow with bars across the windows. Her dream home quickly becomes her worst nightmare. This house is hiding a twisted secret that will change her life forever…

 

Why Mummy Drinks – Gill Sims

Why Mummy Drinks Gill Sans Audiobook

Why Mummy Drinks is the brilliant new novel from Gill Sims, the author of the online sensation Peter and Jame. It is Mummy’s 39th birthday. She is staring down the barrel of a future full of advanced yoga classes and polite book clubs where everyone claims to be tiddly after a glass of Pinot Grigio and says things like ‘Oooh gosh, are you having another glass?’ But Mummy does not want to go quietly into that good night of women with sensible haircuts who ‘live for their children’. Instead, she clutches a large glass of wine, muttering ‘FML’ over and over again. Until she remembers the gem of an idea she’s had…

 

Air Force Blue: The RAF in World War Two – Spearhead of Victory – Patrick Bishop

Air Force Blue Patrick Bishop

In 2018 the RAF is one hundred years old. In his new book, Patrick Bishop examines the high point of its existence – the Second World War, when the Air Force saved the nation from defeat then led the advance to victory. Air Force Blue portrays the spirit of the RAF during its finest hours. It is essential reading for those who had loved ones serving in the war, and for anyone who wants to understand the Second World War.

 

Calm – Fearne Cotton

Calm Fearne Cotton Audiobook

This is the follow up to the TV and radio presenter’s bestselling book, Happy. For many of us it now seems impossible to relax, take time out, or mute the encircling ‘noise’. As a result, mental illnesses are on the rise in every age group, and more of us than ever before yearn for calm. Calm is Fearne’s mission to find the simple things that can inch us away from stress and over to the good stuff. It includes expert advice, conversations with wise friends from all walks of life, easy ideas to try, and activities to complete. This book is a friendly reminder that Calm is a place that exists in us all, we just have to find our way back to it.

 

Death Knocks Twice – Robert Thorogood

Death Knocks Twice Robert Thorogood Audiobook

In the third installment of Robert Thorogood’s Death in Paradise series, a mysterious vagrant is found dead in the grounds of the historic Beaumont plantation. Immediately assumed to be suicide, DI Poole is not so convinced and determined to prove otherwise. Never mind that the only fingerprints on the murder weapon belong to the victim. Or that the room was locked fro the inside. A must-listen if you enjoyed the first two books, or the BBC TV series!

 

Fools and Mortals – Bernard Cornwell

Fools and Mortals Bernard Cornwell Audiobook

In the heart of Elizabethan England, penniless actor Richard Shakespeare dreams of a glittering career in one of London’s playhouses, a world dominated by his older brother, William. When a priceless manuscript goes missing, suspicion falls upon Richard, forcing him onto a perilous path through a bawdy and frequently brutal London. A high-stakes game of duplicity and betrayal which threatens not only his career but also the lives of his fellow players, Richard must use all he has learned from the brightest stages and the darkest alleyways of the city. To avoid the gallows, he must play the role of a lifetime…

 

The Rivers of London Series – Ben Aaronovitch

The Furthest Station Ben Aaronovitch Audiobook

We will soon have all the novels in the series following detective and trainee wizard Peter Grant, investigator of the more fantastical sides of London. Including Rivers of LondonMoon Over Soho, Whispers Underground, Broken Homes, Foxglove Summer and The Hanging Tree, plus the most recent novella The Furthest Station.

 

Magpie Murders – Anthony Horowitz

Magpie Murders Anthony Horowitz Audiobook

Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s. But Conway’s latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition, and murder. A mystery that’s perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.

 

 

We hope you’re as excited as we are about these 2018 audiobook titles! We’ll be adding them to the catalogue soon, so keep your eyes peeled! Leave a comment and let us know which one you’re most excited about!

Looking for something to listen to while you wait? Try some more of our Audiobook Recommendations!

This post was written by Amy Flinders.

Related Posts
Leave a reply